When Are You Legally Married in Kansas

After you legally change your name, you`ll also need to change your name on your Social Security card, U.S. passport, driver`s license, and other official documents such as your bank account, insurance information, and credit card. You have the spouse of your dreams, now all you have to do is plan the perfect day to attach yourself. For those who want to get married in Kansas and stay close to their roots, the state has a thriving backdrop of bluegrass and country music. Kansas is also home to a tulip festival which is a delight every year. Before you go to court to file your application, remember that you and your partner must be at least 18 or 16 years old and have a consent form completed by a parent or guardian. According to kscourts.org, state law does not require an official to be present at the marriage in order for it to be legally binding, but if the couple is performing a proxy marriage where only one party will be present at the ceremony, one official and two witnesses must also be present for the Bureau of Vital Statistics to accept the marriage. Marriage Certificate – A marriage certificate is your golden ticket to walk down the aisle. This is a legal document that authorizes you and your partner to marry and must be signed after your marriage ceremony and returned to state records.

Kansas is one of the few states to recognize marriage at common law. This means that you can legally get married even without the traditional ceremony or marriage certificate. As long as you and your partner are both interested in being married to each other, living together, and acting publicly as if you were married (wearing wedding rings or referring to each other as your spouse), you can be legally married in Kansas. Unfortunately, common-law marriage doesn`t extend to most other states, so if you move, your marriage won`t be legal. The fees for obtaining a marriage license in Kansas vary from county to county. The average fee is about $85. Cash and exact change are required in some counties and are usually due when you pick up the license. (a) The registrars of the district courts or their judges issue, at the request of a person who is one of the parties to the proposed marriage and who is legally entitled to a marriage certificate, a marriage certificate essentially as follows: MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE (Name of place of office, month, day and year.) TO ANY person legally authorized to perform the marriage ceremony, Greeting: You are hereby authorized to marry marriage A B of _____, date of birth ___ and C D of ____, date of birth ___ (and name of the parent or guardian who accepts) and from this license, duly confirmed, you will duly return to this office immediately after performing the ceremony. E F (title of the person issuing the licence).

(b)â No clerk or judge of the district court may issue a marriage certificate until the third calendar day (Sundays, holidays and days when the court registry is not accessible) after the date of submission of the corresponding application to the clerk`s office or office, unless, in urgent cases or exceptional circumstances, a judge of the district court cannot, if duly provided, by order of the court, authorize the issuance of such a marriage certificate without waiting three days. Each district court keeps a register of all marriages resulting from a permit issued by the court, which shows the names of married persons and the date of marriage. (c) “No registrar or judge may issue a licence authorizing the marriage of a person: (1) under 16 years of age, except that a judge of the District Court may, after due examination, give his consent and grant the licence authorizing the marriage of a person at the age of 15 years if the marriage is in the best interests of the person aged 15 years; or (2) who is 16 or 17 years of age without the express consent of that person`s parent or legal guardian and the consent of the judge, unless consent is given to both the mother and the father and a legal guardian or any parent and guardian then alive; In this case, the consent of the judge is not required. If consent is not given in person at the time of application, consent must be evidenced by a signed and duly authenticated written certificate. If the applicants or one of them is 16 or 17 years of age and their parents have died and there is no legal guardian, a judge of the district court may, after proper investigation, give consent and issue the licence authorizing the marriage. (d) The judge or registrar may, on affidavit of the party appearing in person and so requests, issue a licence stating that the parties to whom such licence is to be issued are of full age as required by this section, and the judge or registrar is hereby authorized to take an oath for that purpose. (e) “Every person who swears falsely in such an affidavit is guilty of an offence and will be liable to a fine of up to $500. A clerk or judge of the district court must indicate in each licence the dates of birth of the parties applying for it and, if one or both are 16 or 17 years of age, the name of the father or mother or guardian who consented to the marriage. (f) A marriage certificate shall expire six months after the date of issue if the marriage for which the licence was issued does not take place within the six-month period.